The past that makes us.
The history of Saint Barnabas has been one of growth and renewal, of steps taken forward in faith, and a reverence for the history and traditions of the Episcopal Church and of this parish family. Saint Barnabas began as a Mission Church in 1953, and parish status was granted in 1955. These influences can be seen not only in worship and outreach at Saint Barnabas, but also in the architecture, art, and music.
The history of Saint Barnabas has been one of growth and renewal.
Thanks to a generous donation of land by Mr. and Mrs. Fowler McCormick and the design work of architectural firm T.S. Montgomery, ground was broken on our campus in 1960. Our first service in the new Sanctuary was held on September 10, 1961, and Saint Barnabas was consecrated on February 1, 1973 by the Rt. Rev. Joseph Harte, S.T.D., Bishop of Arizona. We’ve since expanded to include our Memorial Garden, Hutton Hall, the Book and Gift Shop, and the Gwen M. Harris Music Center.
In addition to the construction of new buildings on campus, we’ve been privileged to acquire many wonderful works of art displayed throughout the Sanctuary and other buildings. From 1964 until our remodel in 2010, local artists Lee Porzio and Allen Ditson’s tapestry, “Ode to Joy,” hung behind the altar, screening our first, 37-rank pipe organ. The current focal point of our Sanctuary is a unique piece of artwork by Sarah Hall titled “Wondrous Love,” which combines stained glass mosaic with a new 52-rank organ.
These additions and remodels have provided the people of Saint Barnabas with a highly functional campus that is able to provide Sunday worship open to all, fellowship in a rich variety of settings, and a wide range of events throughout the year.
Learn more about Saint Barnabas